# DEPARTMENT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

April 29, 2017 Haines, Alaska

# **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 2:55 p.m. by President Barbe Wolkoff.

# **ROLL CALL**

#### Present:

Officers

President Barbe Wolkoff

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President Jane Larson

Historian Colleen Newman

Executive Committee Woman Lisa Williamson

Treasurer Diana Estrada

Secretary Barbara Nath

Committee Chairmen

Americanism Chair Barbara Nath

Audit Jennifer Roalsen

Cavalcade of Memories Colleen Newman

Children and Youth Barbara Hummel

Community Service Penny Mazonna

Distinguished Guests Lisa Williamson

Finance Diana Estrada

Girls State Yvonne Lamm

Leadership Sue Caswell

Legislative Sharon Cherrette

Membership Jane Larson

National Security Lisa Williams

Past President Parley Sue Waldhaus

Poppy Lori Fruhwirth

Public Relations Sue Waldhaus

#### Units

Jack Henry Unit 1

Seward Unit 5

Merlin Elmer Palmer Unit 6

Dorman H. Baker Unit 11

Lynn Canal Unit 12

Matanuska Valley Unit 15

General Buckner Unit 16

Robert G. Blair Unit 17

Geo. H. Plumley Memorial Unit 20

Spenard Unit 28

Peters Creek Unit 33

Susitna Valley Unit 35

C. Russell Huber Unit 57

# **ROLL CALL (continued)**

#### Present

Past Department Presidents

Susan Caswell

Rehta Foster

Penny Mazonna

Carolyn Null

Lisa Williamson

#### Excused

#### Officers

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President Debbie Lowndes

Chaplain Marge Blankenship

Sgt-at-Arms Zona Gregg

Executive Committee Woman Zona Gregg

#### Committee Chairmen

Auxiliary Emergency Fund Zona Gregg

Constitution and ByLaws Sue Diaz

**Education Darlene Sheldon** 

Junior Activities Wendy Mendez

Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation Debbie Lowndes

VAVS Marge Blankenship

### Absent

#### Units

Joseph T Craig Unit 3

Sitka Unit 13

Ninilchik Unit 18

Nome Unit 19

Gladys M. Heintz Memorial Unit 27

Muldoon Unit 29

Con Miller Unit 30

Chappie James Unit 34

Peter Heyano Unit 442

Past Department Presidents

June HaasSue CherrierSharon CherretteLori FitzsimonsBetty PorterLavonne CollierEva AulstonJudy PustiJean ShandyFill PowersPotty PondellFrancisco Guilfor

Jill Pawson Betty Randall Francisca Guilford

Lynn Bash Sue Diaz Beverly Eads

Margaret Blankenship

#### **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

There was no Unfinished Business to come before the Department Executive Committee.

# **NEW BUSINESS**

**MOTION**: by Zona Gregg (Unit 6) and seconded by Lisa Williamson (Unit 57) to

appointment Diana Estrada to the position of Treasurer and Barbara Nath to the

position of Secretary.

The motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

#### **FAIRBANKS GIFT SHOP**

Cassey St. Rose reported that they were looking at alternatives to the actual gift shop in Fairbanks. They are trying to find a way to reach more Veterans. It has not been cancelled, but it might go to an alternative method. They will provide an update at the Fall Workshop.

#### **DEPARTMENT COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN**

It was noted that there were still a few chairmanships to be filled. These included Children and Youth Chairman, Children and Youth Co-Chairman as well as the VAVS Anchorage Deputy. Barbara Hummel and Marilyn Mork (Unit 6) agreed to take the Children and Youth positions with Barbara Hummel as Chairman. The Anchorage Deputy for VAVS will be determined at a later date.

Committee Chairs were announced as follows:

#### Committee Chair

Americanism Chair	. Barbara Nath
Audit	. Jennifer Roalsen
Auxiliary Emergency Fund	. Zona Gregg
Calvacade of Memories	. Colleen Newman
Children and Youth	. Barbara Hummel
Children and Youth Co-Chair	. Marilyn Mork
Community Service	
Constitution and ByLaws	. Sue Diaz
Distinguished Guests	. Lisa Williamson
Distinguished Guests Co-Chair	. Auxiliary Convention Hosting Unit
Education	. Darlene Sheldon
Finance	. Diana Estrada
Finance Committee	
1 year position	. Debbie Lowndes
2 year position	
3 year position	. Sue Waldhaus
Girls State	

Ann Robinson			
Corrie Doores			
Colleen Newman			
Beverly Eads			
Junior Activities Wendy Mendez			
Robia Bishop			
Sue Caswell			
Sharon Cherrette			
Jane Larson			
Lisa Williams			
Sue Waldhaus			
Lori Fruhwirth			
Sue Waldhaus			
Lisa Williamson			
Debbie Lowndes			
Linda Schmitt			
Peggy Bateman			
Cassey St. Rose			
VAVS Marge Blankenship			
TBA			
Darlene Sheldon			
Michelle Giddings			
Sue Caswell			

Ann Dohinson

Department Committee members accepted their assignments.

Cirla Stata Co Director

**MOTION**: by Rehta Foster (Unit 28) and seconded by Jenifer Roalsen (Unit 17) to accept the Committee Chairmen for the 2017-2018 year.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Committee Chairmen were reminded that by accepting the Chairmanship, they need to accept the responsibility of filing the required reports to Department, Division and National. These reports need to be submitted according to the timelines set by National.

**MOTION**: by Lavonne Lamm (Unit 33) and seconded by Rehta Foster (Unit 28) to honor Female Veterans.

Honoring a Female Veteran means that although they are a Post member, they can also join the American Legion Auxiliary. Doing so would make the Female Veteran a dual member. The Department of Alaska will waive their dues for the first year. Generally, National will waive their dues for the first year also (this will need to be confirmed with National). In the past, Units have followed suit and waived Unit dues for the first year. If everyone waives the dues, the Female Veterans do not have to pay any dues for the first year.

There is a full page ad that says that Female Veterans do not have to join the Post before they can join the Auxiliary. They can join the Auxiliary without being a member of the Post.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

#### PRESIDENT'S POPPY PROJECT

President Wolkoff's Poppy Project will consist of a poster no smaller than 11x14. There must be three poppies and one actual poppy with a tag. She wants to use them for Auxiliary advertisements. While she has asked for posters to be at least 11x14, they can be larger than that.

## PRESIDENT'S FUNDRAISER

President Wolkoff announced that she will be having periodic raffles. Money raised from these raffles will go to the Department General Fund to help offset her expenses. There will be 200 tickets each time at a cost of \$10 per ticket. Her first item to be raffled will be an I-Pad or computer of some sort.

# **FALL WORKSHOP**

The Fall Workshop will be September 30 to October 1, 2017 at Post 28 in Anchorage. There will be a Junior meeting during the Fall Workshop.

### **JUNIOR MEETING**

**MOTION** by Penny Mazonna (Unit 33) and seconded by Lisa Williamson (Unit 57) to allow the Junior Auxiliary to hold their elections at the Fall Workshop.

This was necessary as there were not enough Juniors in attendance at the Department Convention for them to have their meeting and hold elections. The Junior Youth Activity Chairman will need to be present at the Fall Workshop.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

#### **INSTALLATION**

For the installation of officers, Sue Caswell will be the installing officer. Sue Waldhaus, Lavonne Lamm (Sgt-at-Arms) and Penny Mazonna (Chaplain) would be part of the installing team.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The DEC meeting adjourned at 3:21 p.m.